Normal Topic Need some advice. (Read 3524 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box TnV
New User

Need some advice.
Oct 6th, 2007 at 3:58am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hey folks.

I'm a police officer. I'm also an Evidence Locker Custodian. A recent internal investigation emerged wherein some evidence was taken from an evidence bag that was under my care. I had nothing to do with the theft. 

They are talking about having me and a high number of fellow police officers (all who would have had access to the evidence bag) on the polygraph to try and discover who commited the theft. Without a confession, there is no other way to solve this investigation, as it is several years old. 

The problem is, I'm medically diagnosed as having major anxiety issues. I'm on a very high amount of medication for this and am going through therapy to deal with it, but I'm terrified that my condition will result in a false positive. After doing some heavy thinking and research into the polygraph, I've decided to decline the polygraph...should it be presented to me. 

I'm scared. Declining the poly may result in me being blacklisted as the guilty person. Taking the poly with my medical condition may result in a false positive. I'm looking for some advice or encouragement. 

Should I be worried about the poly with my medical condition? 
Should I volunteer to take the poly regardless? 
If I take the poly, should I employ counter-measures to guarantee the result I want? It seems somewhat unethical, but I don't want to be fired or be thought of as guilty for a crime I had nothing to do with. 

I'm very worried and I think this is the only place I can come to. 

Thanks in advance.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: Need some advice.
Reply #1 - Oct 6th, 2007 at 4:59am
TnV,