Normal Topic Questioning technique (Read 885 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box glsman
New User

Questioning technique
May 16th, 2022 at 12:17pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Long time reader short time poster. I work in the criminal justice field and teach college classes. In one of my classes on serial killers a student brought up a technique that he said he saw online that a serial killer admitted to using. He said the technique was when your being asked a question to think of another questions that you can answer like If the tester is asking you if you ever sold drugs and you want to answer no just think of another question like are you a monkey and says NO when the tester finishes their question. Does this work? I've seen online some say yes and some say no. Thoughts?

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: Questioning technique
Reply #1 - May 16th, 2022 at 3:11pm
I am aware of no research suggesting that this technique is an effective polygraph countermeasure.

George W. Maschke
I am generally available in the chat room from 3 AM to 3 PM Eastern time.
Tel/SMS: 1-202-810-2105 (Please use Signal Private Messenger or WhatsApp to text or call.)
E-mail/iMessage/FaceTime: antipolygraph.org@protonmail.com
Wire: @ap_org
Threema: A4PYDD5S
Personal Statement: "Too Hot of a Potato"
IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box troll_of_truth
User

Re: Questioning technique
Reply #2 - May 17th, 2022 at 1:14pm
glsman wrote on May 16th, 2022 at 12:17pm: