Normal Topic Failed Before I even started, Fairfax County (Read 4559 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box martse25
New User

Failed Before I even started, Fairfax County
Dec 30th, 2017 at 8:00pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I was to take a polygraph exam to become an animal control officer for the Fairfax County Police Department. 
Let me say first of all, the employment process to become any type of officer is not based on experience, education, or anything that would actually be important to performing the position you apply for. I have 10+ years of experience in the animal field, but apparently relevant experience is not valued or even considered. Becoming an officer is entirely based on being able to recall long forgotten and irrelevant information about your past in great detail, then being able to remember exactly how you answered that question previously, then answering it exactly the same every time. 
Now you may think that if you have nothing to hide, this wouldn't be too difficult. Unless you have lived an incredibly uneventful life, you'd be wrong. It is very difficult, at least it was for me, to recall when and how many times certain things occurred for me in my life. It isn't like I documented how many times I smoked pot, fought with my boyfriend, and got a parking ticket. But these are the things they ask you.