Normal Topic Has anyone renewed TS/SCI since failing LS poly? (Read 10068 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box JC

Has anyone renewed TS/SCI since failing LS poly?
Mar 3rd, 2016 at 6:54pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hi,

I got my TS/SCI adjudicated by the Army Reserve in April 2011. I'm up for my periodic renewal very soon.

Here's the story: I was a contractor for the NRO, which required me to pass CI poly for which I took and received a favorable result. About a year and half into my contractor life at the NRO, I came across an employment opportunity with the CIA, which required me to pass LS poly. I went for it and I received a unfavorable result, which extended to getting my access suspected at the NRO as well. I eventually lost my contractor job at the NRO. 

However, it did not have any affect to my Army Reserve career. I still maintained my access to perform my MOS as an intel soldier. Now, my clearance is up for the periodic renewal. I understand that I have to say yes to the question in SF86 where it asks if I have ever been denied or suspended an access. 

With that said, is there anyone who has successfully renewed his/her TS/SCI during the periodic check with a history of getting denied and/or suspended an access? Please share your story with me!  Grin

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box quickfix
Especially Senior User

Re: Has anyone renewed TS/SCI since failing LS poly?
Reply #1 - Mar 3rd, 2016 at 7:44pm
JC:  you are confusing "access" with "clearance".  You can have a TS clearance without access to anything, and a polygraph is not required for a TS or for SCI access.  Contractors are routinely terminated for unfavorable poly results in the intell community since most contracts are contingent upon favorable poly results..  Look at your SF-86;  it will ask you if you have had a clearance revoked, not an access.  You have no reason for concern.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box JC

Reply #2 - Mar 3rd, 2016 at 8:03pm