Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  ReplyAdd Poll Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Polygraph administrator had me lie. (Read 16860 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Fisherman67
New User

Polygraph administrator had me lie.
Dec 12th, 2015 at 11:45am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hi.  I'm new to this, and looking for more info, after failing a poly graph.

Prior to the test, I disagreed to one of the 4 main topic questions.  While I said I had broken a written rule, the examiner explained that I didn't really break the written rule and I should answer the test as if I didn't break it.  After the test, he said there was issues with me lying on this question.

Should the polygraph examiner be allowed to interpret the written rules and have me change my answer?

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: Polygraph administrator had me lie.
Reply #1 - Dec 12th, 2015 at 2:03pm
The question about having broken a written rule was a probable-lie "control" question. You'll find this type of question explained in detail in Chapter 3 of The Lie Behind the Lie Detector:

https://antipolygraph.org/lie-behind-the-lie-detection.pdf

Polygraphers expect that everyone has broken a written rule, and that when an examinee answers this question "no," that it will be a lie. If the examiner later accused you of "having issues" with this question, then it would suggest that you probably actually passed the polygraph. Were you accused of deception with respect to any other question?

George W. Maschke
I am generally available in the chat room from 3 AM to 3 PM Eastern time.
Tel/SMS: 1-202-810-2105 (Please use Signal Private Messenger or WhatsApp to text or call.)
E-mail/iMessage/FaceTime: antipolygraph.org@protonmail.com
Wire: @ap_org
Threema: A4PYDD5S
Personal Statement: "Too Hot of a Potato"
IP Logged

New User

Reply #2 - Dec 12th, 2015 at 3:00pm