Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  ReplyAdd Poll Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Polygraph and prescription medications. (Read 25888 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Victim
New User

Polygraph and prescription medications.
Dec 18th, 2014 at 7:20pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am a law-enforcement officer and recently had two false complaints filed against me. To clear myself I took a polygraph. According to the examiners report I failed all questions showing deception and indications of counter measures. This resulted in suspension and more than likely will lead to termination. I know I was totally truthful on the polygraph. I am wondering if my ADHD and depression medications cause this result in my polygraph?

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: Polygraph and prescription medications.
Reply #1 - Dec 18th, 2014 at 7:35pm
There is precious little research on the effects of any medications on polygraph outcomes. However, it should be borne in mind that polygraphy has no scientific basis to begin with. You should not be put in the position of having to explain why an invalid test produced erroneous results.

Will you have the opportunity of a hearing regarding the polygraph results? If so, a personalized copy of retired FBI scientist Dr. Drew Richardson's "Evaluation and Opinion of CQT Polygraphy" might be helpful:

https://antipolygraph.org/articles/article-028.shtml

If you e-mail me at maschke@antipolygraph.org, or send me a personal message through this board, I'll be happy to put you (or better yet, your lawyer) in touch with Dr. Richardson.

In addition, if you can obtain a copy of the polygrapher's charts, notes, and importantly, any audio or video recording of your polygraph examination, I would be happy to review them and provide a written critique that you could use in any hearing.

George W. Maschke