Hot Topic (More than 15 Replies) Sterling Heights Michigan- Det. Paul Carey's Shenanigans (Read 36748 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Longfellow
New User

Sterling Heights Michigan- Det. Paul Carey's Shenanigans
Feb 14th, 2013 at 4:30pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
In 1985, while working in a Michigan City named Sterling Heights Michigan as an electronic technician, I was falsely accused of committing a crime. I plead not-guilty, and hired a lawyer and prepared to go to court. At one point, the police requested that I agree to take a polygraph examination.  Knowing that I hadn't done anything illegal, I agreed, and went in to take the test.

I was met by an officer who introduced himself to me as Detective Paul Carey, and explained to me that he would be administering the test to me. He began by asking me a few basic questions: did I know what a polygraph machine was? What was my opinion of polygraph tests?  Would I agree to answer the questions that he would ask me honestly, etc.? I agreed to do so, and gave him a very frank answer as to what my opinion was as to polygraph examinations: there is no machine in the world that can measure one's veracity; it was junk science. But I would cooperate fully and answer all of his questions fully and truthfully.

He began by explaining that his first few questions would be basic questions that would allow him to calibrate his machine. Common things like "what is your name? Where do you live? Etc. These were all things that he had full knowledge of, as I had filled out a questionnaire when I had arrived.

After a few minutes of "where do you live, is your name... etc.", we began other questions, in tune with the subject.

When we had completed the examination, he asked:

"So, how do you think you did?"