Hot Topic (More than 15 Replies) Polygraph ruined my career path. (Read 28895 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Russell41
New User

Polygraph ruined my career path.
Dec 7th, 2011 at 5:18am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
My name is Russell Becker.  I am currently 41 years old, working as a janitor in Orlando FL.  I also work part time as a courtesy patrol in a mobile home park.  I have never been married and I have no children.  I have never smoked and I do not drink alcohol.   

I served four years in the United States Marine Corps (3051).  Honorable discharged in 1994.  I then went on to study at Liberty University.  I graduated in 1997 with a bachelors degree in Administration of Justice and a minor in Business.  I have never been arrested in my life.

My goal in life was to become a private investigator.  I applied for the FBI and failed their test (Tampa 1997).  I then took the US Secret Service exam in Jacksonville (1997).  I past this exam.  The next 7 months it was "I" who kept calling them for when the next interview was scheduled.  Meanwhile, I am working via. Kelly Services to pay my bills.  Then came my turn for the polygraph.  I had never taken one prior.

Only Yes/No answers staring at a blank wall.  The testor comes back and tells me I was being untruthful on the drug and serious crime questions.  I knew this was incorrect as I don't smoke... never have, never will.  I also have never comitted any crime.  I'm working and have been since I was 15.   

The testor then appeals to me to just admit to what I have done.   That I would be making 80K a year if I got the job.  I was insulted, asked to lie and my honor was being questioned.  They had pages of information I filled out.  They knew where I lived, worked and who I had as coworkers since graduating from High school in 1988.   

Yet they brushed me out the door.  The end.