Normal Topic Volitional Polygrph Question (Read 10014 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box qrqzz88

Volitional Polygrph Question
Aug 26th, 2011 at 3:50am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I work in an environment where many of my coworkers have opted for a higher level of clearance and were required to take a polygraph as part of the process.  I have been considering following suite as a way of increasing my job security.  What I wonder about is how one's personality type should be taken into account when considering such a path.  For example, I find that I am a person who has many self doubts, I'm not very good at mind games and I'm generally easily intimidated.  The idea of being interrogated gives me a very bad feeling.

I believe that it is possible that I could prepare myself sufficiently for the "exam".  I realize I would have to reread many times TLBTLD and practice.  But clearly there is a significant risk of failure.

Is there any advice you would have for someone in my position?

BTW: thank you all for your efforts and attention to this cause!

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box stefano
Ex Member

Re: Volitional Polygrph Question
Reply #1 - Aug 26th, 2011 at 5:33pm
Quote:
I find that I am a person who has many self doubts, I'm not very good at mind games and I'm generally easily intimidated.The idea of being interrogated gives me a very bad feeling.

This is fertile ground for the interrogator. I would suggest you find ways to flip these attributes around so that you can manipulate the manipulator. I have seen literature which teaches such skills.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box pailryder
Especially Senior User

Reply #2 - Aug 26th, 2011 at 8:14pm
qrqzz88Quote:
I would suggest you find ways to flip these attributes around so that you can manipulate the manipulator.

That could turn out to be quite a difficult task, indeed.