Normal Topic Passed Poly - Failed Two Poly's Still Employed... but (Read 8083 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box depressed
New User

Passed Poly - Failed Two Poly's Still Employed... but
Jun 2nd, 2011 at 4:03am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I do not want to say with which agency but suffice to say I have been a contractor for several years. I initially passed the FS Poly and was hired. Years later, recently, I wanted to move into "regular" employment with said agency and was required to take another poly. I failed miserably due to the caustic nature of the polygrapher (in addition it looks like the polygrapher had tons of baggage, which may have saved my bacon). I was granted a new test, and although the polygrapher was much, much better I simply could not get the first poly out of my mind. The second polygrapher did everything they could, to the point of telling me to get any thoughts out of my mind, but alas it was not to be. 

It was interesting in that the first polygrapher told me that the poly was 99.9% accurate, yet the second polygrapher told me it was nothing but a "stress" test and could not determine lies/truth.

Fast forward... this agency, after all my years of service and regular backgrounds wanted to yank my clearance. I fought it, consulted with an attorney, wrote an appeals letter, and had the backing of gov't employees, supervisors, and division managers. I was told that my appeal was adjudicated favorably and I could keep employment and my clearance/access.

I have been scarred no less from this process, and have seen very well qualified individuals, high ranking ex mil, you name it all fail due to "drugs", etc. though they took none. Back to my question...