Normal Topic Failed USSS poly (Read 8566 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box JayAndrew725

Failed USSS poly
Mar 25th, 2011 at 5:19am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I applied with the Secret Service and having successfully completed other applicant phases I was scheduled for a polygraph. My first poly came back inconclusive after a four hour exam and I then took a 2nd poly a week later, which I was told that I failed.  After about 15 minutes on the machine (3 tests conducted back-to-back-to-back) The examiner accused me of having committed a "serious crime" (which includes murder, rape, robbery, assault, child molestation, beastiality, burglary, etc.).  He stated that since I was a cop and I had been divorced he figured that I had either a. beat suspects in my custody or b. beat my wife.  I have been in law enforcement for almost 10 years and this could not be further from the truth. My marriage was bad (hence the divorce) but it was not abusive.  I have never used drugs, never been charged with a crime (not even a traffic or parking citation), and I have NEVER committed a crime other than minor traffic violations (speeding, seatbelt, texting while driving, etc.).  I'll admit that I am guilty of being extremely nervous but thats it.  After all, had I gotten the job it would have doubled my current salary.  I did not attempt countermeasures as I did not think I needed them and wanted to do it "honestly".  It's ironic how honest people are disqualified by the "lie-detector".  What voodoo.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Chuckles
User

Polygraph Survivor

honesty is not the best policy
Reply #1 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 1:45pm