Normal Topic TS/SCI Clearance and Drug Use (Read 7288 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box jbillings
New User

TS/SCI Clearance and Drug Use
Sep 25th, 2010 at 12:56am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I'm a student in College right now and my company wants me to get a security clearance. I've been using marijuana recreationally for the past few months... but stopped immediately after reading the SF86. I don't plan on smoking anymore because I've realized work is much more important. I've also used cocaine on a couple instances, but they were outside the country and wouldn't happen again.

I am willing to be fully honest about all this stuff and tell the investigator that it was all kinda me just being silly at the time... but I feel like that since it's so recent that it's going to be an automatic DQ. After researching on the internet, I don't really see anyone in my position. Mostly just adults who made the same mistakes I did in college (and probably even more, or for a longer period of time) and as long as they admit to that it's usually not an issue and they're cleared.

Biggest issues I have are:
- Recent use
- It's a high level clearance... this is TS that requires a poly

Good things:
- Majority of drug use was outside the country
- The dates of use only go over a 3 month period.

What do you guys think? I'm also not really sure how to tell my Security Officer this... I mean, the last thing I'd want is to lose my job all in all. I know if I submit the forms then obviously they'll be aware. He also indicated to me that whatever is discussed regarding this stuff is just between me and him so I feel OK with it. It's important to note that I don't *need* this clearance necessarily to maintain my job, but I do need it if I want more opportunities and to move up.