Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) RCMP polygraph... wow you were right. (Read 112096 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box wes99
New User

RCMP polygraph... wow you were right.
Feb 14th, 2008 at 5:18pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am going to attempt to make a long story short here… Almost a year ago I applied to the RCMP in Canada; I thought it would be a good job for a variety of reasons. I have a University degree; and had been employed overseas for several years. I did well on the written test, physical test and then the interview. Next came the polygraph, to be honest I was always skeptic about the polygraph (who isn’t?) so I did a little of research on the internet, I found this site and briefly looked over it. I basically decided that I would trust the RCMP and believed that if I was 100% honest I would pass the “test”, I guess I thought this site was alarmist and perhaps not reliable. Huge mistake. 

Well you can guess what happened if I’m writing here. Yes I “failed” the test. I maintained my innocence in the post interrogation. I left feeling perplexed and very disappointed. The next day I went to my old University library to research the polygraph and figure out how it was possible to fail while being truthful. My jaw almost hit the floor when I read The Polygraph and Lie Detection written by the National Research Council in 2003 concerned about inaccuracy of polygraphs. Equally disturbing was the 1981 report, A Tremor in the Blood by famous psychologist Dr. David Lykken, also illuminating the short-comings of the polygraph. Lastly, I studied, The Lie Detectors: The History of an American Obsession by historian Dr. Ken Alder published in 2007. All three books ultimately conclude that the polygraph has no scientific basis and people frequently fail the test while telling the truth. I wanted to read a current source supporting the polygraph with scientific evidence however; I could not find any at my library.