Hot Topic (More than 15 Replies) 22 y.o. law student fails FBI polygraph (Read 15539 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box valerie
New User

22 y.o. law student fails FBI polygraph
Feb 11th, 2006 at 3:15am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Let me start out by saying that I am so relieved to have found this site.  My dismal experience with the FBI polygraph was a mere 7 hours ago.  I am so shocked and upset that I haven't had a bite to eat all day and feel physically and emotionally drained.

I am a law student at a top 100 law school.  On a career services day, they said the FBI had an "honors" internship program.  I was thrilled, and thought it sounded great.  My first summer after law school would be the FBI!  I submitted my application, and out of about 80 applicants, I was one of 15 to be called back for an interview.  Eventually, I was selected as the candidate from the field office to attend the program.  Again, I was very happy, and had complete faith and respect for the FBI.

Well, today I had my scheduled polygraph test.  My friends had joked with me earlier saying, "Every answer is going to be a lie because you are so nervous."  This is the truth, I get nervous very easily, but I had faith that I would get through the polygraph with no problem as I've never done anything.  I don't smoke, don't drink, and have never even seen drugs.   

Special Agent A, as I will call him, introduced himself to me in a kind of unfriendly way.  I don't know how to pinpoint it, but I was even more nervous at that point. He led me to the polygraph room which had a two-way mirror, the polygraph chair, a regular chair, and his desk with the equipment.  He told me what the polygraph was for - to make sure liars, cheaters, and theives are not admitted into the FBI.  I shook my head in understanding - I, of course, was none of those things.