Normal Topic CIA Response Time (Read 4954 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box NateTook
New User

CIA Response Time
May 3rd, 2005 at 4:41am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I live in New York CIty and have recently applied to the CIA for a DO position.  The website says that if I don't hear anything in 45 days then I do not meet any criteria they are looking for.  However, my background is almost custom tailored to the job description--military, graduate school, foreign residency, language ability, etc.  It has been about 60 days now and I am a bit bummed I have not had a response.   
My questions are:
#1 Could the delay be more due to a backlong in applications rather than me not being qualified?  I would be interested in hearing from people in the northeast area who have applied and been contacted.

#2 I would prefer a DO position but would also be inclined to work with the DI.  Might I be getting looked at my other parts of the agency before being contacted or will my application be solely for the DO?

Thanks in advance to anybody who replies.  I would also be interested in hearing some general experiences and observations on hiring since President Bush issued the Executive Order to increase the DO and DI.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Ruckover
User

Re: CIA Response Time
Reply #1 - May 4th, 2005 at 1:43am
Response to Question 1) How did you apply?  Through the website or another channel? If it was through the website and you have not been contacted then I would say its not necessarily a bad sign.  If through another mechanism such a recruiter, contracter, or current employee, than it would be a bad sign b/c those are usually acted on quickly.