Normal Topic Failed Positive?!? (Read 10364 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Nate (Guest)

Failed Positive?!?
Dec 13th, 2000 at 8:06pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I recently took a test for a police department in Kansas.  I believe in honesty and upholding the law.  Therefor I told them EVERYTHING that I ever did.  The worst thing I did was steal money from my fist job when I was 16.  I was told that they would not hold that against me and went ahead and hired a polygrapher.  This means I could have recieved a job if I passed the polygraph.   
Well the polygraph came out that I lied on a question.  The question was "Besides when you where 16, have you ever stole any more money from an employeer".  I answered no which was the truth. It said I lied but what's really wierd is that none of my jobs after that one dealt with money?  I worked the campus police department, loss prevention, private investigator, jailer, and I'm currently a probation officer. I believe I failed because the question was about something I did that I feel guilty and nervous about. 
Needless to say my application was stopped when they found out I failed the polygraph.  I'm only 23 and have a BS in Criminal Justice (with high honors) and I have always wanted to be a police officer.  I don't have anything on my record, not even a speeding ticket!!! Now all the police departments refer me too the same polgraph company that failed me, so or course he's going to fail me again because it will make him look unprofessional if he doesn't come out with the same results.  What should I do???

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George Maschke (Guest)

Re: Failed Positive?!?
Reply #1 - Dec 13th, 2000 at 11:37pm
Nate,

You should vigorously protest the polygrapher's opinion in writing, and demand that your application be re-instated.