Normal Topic CIA Family Background Check worries, please advise (Read 10022 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box JohnDoezy
New User

CIA Family Background Check worries, please advise
Dec 15th, 2012 at 9:25pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hi, I am thinking about applying to the CIA except I have some worries about how a background check involving my parents would affect my chances.

My parents are both US citizens, and law abiding and never been to jail, or arrested or anything like that. 

I was discussing my desire to join the CIA, and they rasied some concerns

1) They own property outside the united states that they havent paid taxes on, apparently I was not aware that property outside the US needs to be declared to uncle sam. This is a US friendly country btw.

2) My parents filed tax returns one year on a sale of property, in a way that was not exactly kosher. They needed the money badly to settle some other debts they had at the time that had to be paid. They filed taxes in a way to reduce their liabilities that if the IRS audited them and opened their case they could be hit with some very heavy fines.

I've taken the necessary precuations to protect my IP before making this post to make it as untraceable as possible.

Anyway, should I still apply to the CIA, I dont want to subject them to a background check and some way have the IRS look through their financial information and get them audited.

I was wondering what the chances of this happeneing would be?

Thanks guys

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Twoblock
God Member

Re: CIA Family Background Check worries, please advise
Reply #1 - Dec 15th, 2012 at 9:59pm
JohnDoezy

I'm not a tax lawyer or tax accountant, but seems like property sales in another country wouldn't be any business of the IRS. In this country, I believe you can sell a house one time without oweing any taxes. If you buy another house and sell it later on and you made a profit, you would be taxed on the gains.