Normal Topic Fired because of SF85P working a non-classified job! (Read 23256 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box nottheonlyone
New User

Fired because of SF85P working a non-classified job!
Jan 25th, 2012 at 8:53pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I would like to get some feedback about my situation.  I am a computer database designer that went to work on a Navy contract held by a large consulting firm, working on Navy personnel systems.  I was required to fill out an SF85P, even though my job did NOT require any level of clearance.  I only worked on a non-classified machine.  I was on this job for more than 3 years.  

About 2 years after I began employment, I was notified that my SF85P had never been adjudicated and I was required to resubmit it.  I did.  The same thing happened a couple months later, so I resubmitted everything a 3rd time.  

After a couple more months, I was told (by my consulting company) that I did not "pass" or "fail", but my result was "no determination made".  No one at any level of my consulting company or any of their contacts within the governmental offices seemed to know what that meant.  

The issues were all financial considerations due to foreclosure of a house and some delinquent credit cards from when I lost a job in 2008 and was out of work for an extended period of time.  I wrote a letter of explanation and my employer wrote a letter of recommendation and these were submitted to the governmental agency handling my adjudication.  

Several more months went by in which I made follow-up calls and sent emails to ascertain the status of my investigation.  Each time I was told my letters had not yet been read/processed.  

Suddenly, out-of-the-blue, my manager came to me one afternoon in September 2011 and told me they had heard back on my SF85P and I could no longer work there!  I had to pack my stuff up and leave that afternoon!