Normal Topic Polygraph vs EEO (Read 4826 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Antonio

Polygraph vs EEO
Aug 7th, 2011 at 8:28pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I have been a federal agent for almost 10 years with a perfect record and I currently hold a secret clearance. Last year I failed a polygraph test when I applied for a job with another federal agency. I believe that the polygraph examiner failed me because of my ethnicity. I went ahead and filed a formal EEO against the agency. The EEO was accepted and once I get the results back, I’ll have the chance to take my case against a federal judge. What I need to do now is to find a specialized lawyer that can help me with my case. I have spoken to some lawyers and they don’t seem to understand what I’m trying to fight. They are only interested in my money. Can anyone please recommend a lawyer? Thanks.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Mr. Truth
Very Senior User

Re: Polygraph vs EEO
Reply #1 - Aug 7th, 2011 at 9:14pm
Well, are you more interested in anti-EEO or anti-polygraph? By your post, it's hard to tell if you believe in the accuracy of the polygraph. As a federal agent, were you a big believer in the polygraph when it suited your needs (e.g., a suspect failed an exam, confessed when presented with the results), or are you peeved now that it has been used against you? If an examiner scored you deceptive, and other examiners can come to the same conclusion, what does that finding have to do with discrimination? Not a whole lot IMHO.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Antonio

Reply #2 - Aug 7th, 2011 at 10:40pm
I said I was fed. It does imply that I have ever used, been trained, or even believe in the polygraph. If I believed in its accuracy and on the ethics of the examiners, I would not be seeking advice from the members of this forum.  I’m just another frustrated victim seeking justice. That’s why I posted the question.  Thanks.

IP Logged