Normal Topic FBI App process -- what should I do? (Read 9870 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box mysecretname2
New User

FBI App process -- what should I do?
Feb 14th, 2010 at 6:44pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Here is my situation:

I graduated from college this year and decided I want to join the FBI. I applied for a job without thinking too much about the 3-year drug policy. I have used marijuana a couple of times in the past three years, most recently about a year ago. But, this use was so limited and infrequent I didn't even think about it as a potential issue. Other then that, I have absolutely nothing to hide.

Anyway, when I received a conditional employment offer and actually started thinking about taking a polygraph, I googled 'polygraph tests' and came up with this site -- now I am thoroughly freaked out!

I really want to work for the FBI. My "drug use" has never been an issue and would never be in the future. I have a great resume and would be a great employee.

I'm now scared that I will fail the poly and be barred for life from FBI employment.

I am thinking about simply telling my recruiting coordinator the truth about my situation, and if they disqualify me then they disqualify me. But, at least that way I could apply in two years with nothing to hide.

Is there any point in telling my coordinator my situation (i.e., any chance they would continue to process), or should I just withdraw my application and wait two years??

What should I do?

Thanks.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: FBI App process -- what should I do?
Reply #1 - Feb 14th, 2010 at 7:44pm