Normal Topic It ended everything. (Read 50298 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box JoeyDonuts
New User

It ended everything.
Feb 1st, 2010 at 9:05am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
It's been a long time since I spoke of this.

Maybe I figured that now since everything's in the past that one of these days I'd be out of its shadow.

This sadly, is not the case.

In 2007, I was an Electronic Warfare technician in service with the United States Navy.  I'd been stationed on an Arleigh-Burke class destroyer for the previous five years, and was just about done with my hitch.  I'd been weighing options for shore duty, and since EW's had been combined with Cryptologic Technician (Technical), all kinds of exciting three-letter-agency shore duty billets had opened up - I was qualified since all of us had to be read in to TS/SCI.

I had a CI poly in 2005, and it went about as textbook as you can imagine.  I stared straight ahead, did everything I was told, walked out as TS/SCI with a CI poly on my record.   

When the time came to fight for orders, I managed to secure a billet in Aurora, Colorado working for a satellite branch of the NSA at Buckley AFB.  The one hitch was that they liked to have a polygraph within 6 months of the servicemember reporting.  Everything was set up for me to take the CI poly the day before I was to start my transfer - I even got schooling in Pensacola en-route, with a nice re-enlistment bonus.  I was very much looking forward to the day that I'd leave the grey waters and dreary sea rotation of Norfolk behind me, and continue serving my country in a choice location.

That day would never come.