Normal Topic The issue of Accuracy (Read 2223 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box KatZahra
New User

The issue of Accuracy
Jan 3rd, 2010 at 10:42pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
This is my first time posting in this forum (or in any forum if truth is to be told, but anyways..) so please be patient...

First and foremost this site and the ebook "The Lie Behind the Lie Detector" have been really helpful and I congratulate Mr George Maschke for the extensive work he has provided on the polygraph test.

Having said that, I still remain with a little dilemma on the accuracy of a polygraph test. Those who are in favour of the polygraph test mark the accuracy at 90-98% however those who are against the polygraph state that the accuracy is better than chance but lower than perfection. 

Quote:

Quote #1:
These studies, almost exclusively carried out in criminal investigation settings using one particular test, the Comparison Question Test (CQT), indicate that the CQT is able to discriminate between truth tellers and liars above the level of chance, but the accuracy levels are far from perfect.

Vrij, A. (2008). Detecting lies and deceit, 2nd Edition
Pgs. 295-29

Quote:

Quote #2: [You should know this Smiley]
...specific-incident polygraph tests for event-specific investigations can discriminate lying from truth telling at rates well above chance, though well below perfection.

Maschke, G. W. and Scalabrini, G. J. (2005). The lie behind the lie detector, 4th Digital Edition
Pg. 27

____

However whilst reading a paper by Lykken D. T. (1988) The case against polygraph testing I encountered the following statement:
Quote:
"We can conclude, therefore, that the CQT, while reasonably accurate (about 84 percent on guilty suspects) in detecting lying in persons not specifically trained in countermeasures, is exceedingly inaccurate in detecting truthfulness (about 53 percent accuracy, versus a chance of accuracy of 50 percent)."
Pg. 117