Normal Topic confused about FBI poly (Read 5381 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box NY_FBI_APPLICANT
New User

confused about FBI poly
Sep 1st, 2009 at 4:27am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hello, a little bit about myself.  I am an applicant for the FBI SA position. I've been in the Army for about 12 years now: 8 Enlisted years and 4 as an Officer.

Prior to Enlisting in the Army, I admit that I have smoked MJ about 25 times in my teenhood.  I am not proud of this fact, especially in light of the fact that I am a commissioned Officer.  As embarrassing as it is, I revealed my youthful indiscretion during my PSI. 

I recently had my FBI poly last week and am confused what the outcome will be.  I thought I was telling the complete truth and was caught by surprise at the end when the interviewer told me I was spiking on the "application" and "drugs" question.  He said he suspected that the two areas were related ie(lied on application about drug use).

Trying to be as completely honest as I can, I admitted that I made a mistake on a prequestionnaire  on the part that says "Have you used MJ in the last 3 years OR more then 15 times in your life?"  Without really thinking about usage, I marked "no" real quick and turned it in.  After thinking about my total usage and trying to be completely honest, I corrected that form during my PSI interview.

I admitted to the Polygrapher that I made a mistake in filling out that form (even though it doesn't reflect current FBI drug use policy) but have corrected myself.  He told me we'd probably have to do the Poly again but maybe HQ would accept my explanation and pass me.  He didn't say anything about failing.  So while I technically lied on a form, the question was moot to begin with and I also corrected myself.