Normal Topic What should I tell friends and family? (Read 5128 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box thisisnotmyname
New User

What should I tell friends and family?
May 14th, 2009 at 8:36pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
So, I may have found my calling in life.  I recently discovered the world of intelligence analysis and I enjoy it so much it's kind of intoxicating.

But there's a major hitch...

What am I supposed to tell my friends and family?

I'm still a student with at least three more years of studies before realistically applying to the CIA.  It seems reasonable to believe that the less people know about my studies and career goals the better.

I understand that once I actually apply to an Agency they will assist and inform me in this.  But what am I supposed to do with the next three years?

I can't sit around Starbucks reading Silent Warfare and practicing Farsi can I?

I also can't suddenly switch my college major to Intelligence Studies without making everyone suspicious.

Could someone please advise me on this?  Thanks!

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box smfischer4
New User

Re: What should I tell friends and family?
Reply #1 - May 15th, 2009 at 3:08am
I believe this is one of the hardest things about working for intelligence organizations, especially the CIA.  You can not discuss work related material outside of work let alone get public recognition.   

Although you might get some raised eye brows from family members when you switch your major, you could generally describe the field you are going into rather than mentioning the Agency by name.  This is definitely a better way to go than trying to keep everything a secret while friends and family get curious.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Reply #2 - May 15th, 2009 at 5:31pm
thisisnotmyname wrote on May 14th, 2009 at 8:36pm: