Normal Topic Anxious In Seattle (Read 7991 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box 7 year popo

Anxious In Seattle
Nov 24th, 2008 at 5:26am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I'm a 7 year cop looking for a better job. I also have OCD, obsessive compulsive disorder, (an anxiety disorder). I did not pass the USSS poygraph due to my OCD and the nervousness associated wtih it. I am scared to take another polygraph due to these issues but really would like to get a better job.

Have there ever been any studies done  or does anyone have any information on polygraphs and anxiety disorders??????

Should I tell the next poygrapher of the OCD????

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: Anxious In Seattle
Reply #1 - Nov 24th, 2008 at 6:10am
Your failure to pass the USSS polygraph wasn't necessarily associated with your anxiety disorder. Polygraphy is junk science and has no validity as a diagnostic test. The procedure is inherently biased against the truthful, and false positive outcomes are common even in people without an anxiety disorder.

Mentioning your anxiety disorder to your polygrapher is unlikely to help you. There is no standard protocol for polygraphers to follow when polygraphing people with anxiety disorders. Instead, mentioning your condition is likely to prejudice your polygrapher against you. For example, the polygrapher may well surmise that you're offering an excuse in advance for why you don't expect to pass. In addition, your polygrapher may have a personally belief that anyone with an anxiety disorder has no business being in law enforcement, and such bias could influence results.

I suggest that you arm yourself with knowledge before your polygraph. You'll find a thorough debunking of poygraphy, along with suggestions on how to reduce the risk of a false positive outcome, in The Lie Behind the Lie Detector, which you can download as a 1 mb PDF file here: