Normal Topic FBI Intel Analyst (Read 8342 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box NancyDrew
New User

FBI Intel Analyst
Apr 8th, 2008 at 10:36pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Can anyone shed any insight into the recent hirings for this position? I'm in process and they made me a very lowball offer (I have a doctorate and 10 years experience in a very similar field.) I accepted conditionally and processing has begun.

Will there be an opportunity to negotiate down the road or should I pull out sooner rather than later?

Nancy Drew

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Fair Chance
God Member

Re: FBI Intel Analyst
Reply #1 - Apr 9th, 2008 at 2:12am
Dear "Nancy Drew",

I do not know where you got the inference or impression that the salary could be "negotiated."  The Federal government has strict OPM guidelines on what you will be paid and how pay raises will be administrated.  What you do not see "upfront" is not going to happen.  You have to state that you are only interested in a job if you qualify at a specific "GS" level.  Do not accept a job expecting that they will make a significant change on threat of you leaving.  Many Special Agents were burned after signing up after 9/11 thinking that the FBI would make them whole after seeing what they could do.  They took significant salary cuts from their previous private sector jobs of what they were making, relocated to high cost of living areas, and expected to "grind through the ranks" like all agents before them.  There was no special consideration given.

I sense you are heading for deep disappointment with your line of questions.

Regards.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box sackett
Especially Senior User

Reply #2 - Apr 9th, 2008 at 2:57am
Once again, I am seeing unrealistic expectations for what one sees as their "deserved" job.

How routine for the members and posters on this board...   

Nancy, read the job announcement!

Sackett

IP Logged

God Member