Normal Topic polygraph in police interrogation (Read 4364 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box gmos
New User

polygraph in police interrogation
Jan 23rd, 2008 at 5:01pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am a capital criminal defense attorney and have a client who is somewhat cognitively impaired.  He had an infant child who died as a result of SIDS according to the medical examiner.  About a year after the child's death, my client's ex starting telling people that he deliberately smothered the child.  My client heard rumors that his child's death was being investigated and approached local law enforcement about it.  He voluntarily met with law enforcement and told them for about an hour how he had not been present when the baby was discovered by his ex not breathing.  They asked him to submit to a polygraph.  He agreed.  The morning of the scheduled polygraph, he called to reschedule because he had been up most of the night before helping a friend repair his car.  The agents insisted that he come that day.  He went in and they spent about an hour with him prior to the examination going over his story and preparing him for the examination.  After the initial interview, they left him alone for at least half an hour before the test.  He took the polygraph (I have no results at this point) during which they asked him dozens of questions.  After the test, agents informed him that he had failed, angrily interrogated him for two more hours, promised him they would let him go once he confessed (they did), and told him repeatedly what he had done until he agreed.  I want to know if polygraphers are trained in law enforcement contexts to set up an accused to fail when they have a suspect from whom they want a confession.  I know that law enforcement can tell accused persons lies when trying to obtain a confession, but can polygraphers?  What tricks do they use to obtain a deceptive reading?  And does anyone know someone who is trained in this area whom I could hire to t