Normal Topic SIGH! (Read 7041 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box sweatyhands
New User

SIGH!
Nov 7th, 2007 at 3:40pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Greetings all,
  I will start by saying I failed my only polygraph exam with the FBI in 2006.  It was devestating for me and have not attempted since.  I graduated with honors in 2005 from University of North Carolina and I am a navy veteran.  I was excited about being selected as an Intelligence Analyst for the FBI Counter-Terrorism Unit.  All that was crushed when some guy at the FBI said I was lieing about my prior drug use.  I had told them that I had minor experimental drug use several years ago with marijuana but that was all.   

The problem.  I suffer from hyperhydrosis, diagnosed by my doctor.  My hands sweat constantly, nothing I can do about it.  The poly examiner was getting pissed because my hands would not stop sweating and he couldnt get an accurate read.  He tried all morning then sent me to lunch to relax.  I came back and he tried once more and by that time I was upset too.  I was having problem asking the easy questions like "Are you married" because all I could think about was that I was going to fail.  He finally said that the results are inconclusive and that HQ will determine.  He asked if I want to say anything on paper and I wrote down that my drug use in no way violates the FBI policy and that I felt this was wrong.

Some time later I got a letter saying that I was denied my clearance.

I am considering starting a masters degree in intelligence this January.  In the back of mind I am worried that because my hyperhidrosis my hands will never let me pass the exam.  Their is a constant layer of sweat on my hands regardless of anything. So the finger tip reading will always be sweat.

Any advice would be appreciatted.

Thanks

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperhidrosis