Normal Topic kind of depressed about this now (Read 4907 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box palindrome
New User

kind of depressed about this now
May 19th, 2007 at 2:16am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hello all,

I am a college sophomore, who has very recently taken a great interest in a career in federal law enforcement (DEA)--that is, until i learned about the polygraph test. I had wanted to work law enforcement for a long time, but only now have i actually researched it. I am worried because I have smoked marijuana in the past (not a total stoner, maybe once every 2 months under 10 times total) and have taken adderall without a prescription (only once). Also, I have stolen merchandise from my employer (while, I aided in it anyways, and not valuing more than $1000, but the $$ is up there). 

I committed these actions before I understood the long term consequences. I now realise the severity of these actions, and i am very remorseful. 

I am depressed because after doing some reading here, as well as other forums, I feel i have no shot working federal law enforcement. 

I won't be applying for at least six years (and i do not intend to commit anymore DQ actions), and if everything goes to plan, I will have completed graduated a top 30 university, a relevant law enforcement internship, and have some military experience. I want to prove how much I have changed, and hopefully the polygraph policy/hiring policy will have been changed by then too.

I don't know the purpose of this post, other than myself wanting to vent. Thanks for listening.  Cry

-Paul
« Last Edit: May 19th, 2007 at 4:34am by palindrome »  

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Mr. Invisible

Re: kind of depressed about this now
Reply #1 - Jan 5th, 2009 at 5:07am
I realize this is a pretty old post but, I'm going to replay anyway.