Normal Topic Background (LONG POST) (Read 1885 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box whoanow
New User

Background (LONG POST)
Jul 2nd, 2006 at 11:54pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I'd like some insights from those of you on the board who have actually been BG Investigators.  This is a fairly long post.

I am currently 30 and working on my degree.   I have been looking at depts. but my own self perception of my background is that I need to put some time between my application and some of the decisions I have made and finishing my degree does this very well.   

However, it seems that everytime I meet with BG investigators or officers at Depts. on informal basis, and telling them some of the things I am worried about they are EAGER for me to apply and seem to sluff it off.    That may be because we have not as yet got into the totallity of what I believe would make me look less appealing on paper. 

I often get very ANTSY to apply when they seem so eagar...and have recently had a retired officer who teaches one of my classes refer me to his dept.  that does not hire newbies...but set aside 2 hours for me, and really seems interested in having me apply as their first group of new hires in 12 years.  The Dept is amazing and the ride along was like doing my first FTO.   Everyone I have met, knows about me before hand and says they've "heard great things."      

So...please give me you insights on how you would look at my BG.  My personna in any interview with my issues that I think helps is "It is what it is, I will never defend or make excuses for a choice I've made.   I did it.  No excuses. " 

I have no drug history.   No criminal history.