Normal Topic Was told not to bother... (Read 1456 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Ellusionz
New User

Was told not to bother...
Feb 21st, 2006 at 9:52pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I went to do my polygraph exam the other week so I could volunteer with the Orlando Police Department.  I want to get all the experience and contacts I can because I hope to become a police officer (I'm in my last year of school for criminal justice).  Now there was a study I heard of saying people in college are more honest with employers about past things, and in my case thats true, and  I wanted to be completely honest about my past drug use, which stopped about  3 years ago.  And I figured I'd be fine since the disqualifier was to not have used it in the past 2 years.  WELL... He went through all the questioning in the beginning to find out anything I might have forgotten or have questions on... so I figured I'd mention anything I thought might be relevant.  I then found out I was considered in possession of weed last year because I cleaned my friends house and moved his weed.  I was told to sign off on the paperwork and not to bother taking the exam because I would fail.  I was crushed, and now I'm afraid to even apply for an internship (or job in the future) that will require me to take a polygraph in fear that I will fail and not be allowed into a department I want.  Or even worse it follow me to any other jobs I try.  My professor at school said the polygraph exam is only as good as the examiner, and at the time I didn't really put much thought into that... but after reading this site I can definately see he has a point.

IP Logged

Was told not to bother...

Please type the characters that appear in the image. The characters must be typed in the same order, and they are case-sensitive.
Open Preview Preview

You can resize the textbox by dragging the right or bottom border.