Normal Topic jailhouse lawyer polygraph (Read 2758 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box lawdog
New User

jailhouse lawyer polygraph
Aug 10th, 2005 at 1:18am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
A wise old law proffessor advised my class never to take a polygraph. I ignored his advice because I graduated flat broke and badly needed a job as a prisoner advocate with the Maricopa County Sheriff's office. 

I naaively thought  scrupulous candor would get me through.  It did not. Questions about sexual conduct were so shocking  I was unexpectedly shocked and upset, undoubtedly causing erratic responses. Other questions were about  trivial youthful misconduct I had utterly forgotten, but though I was embarrassed I answered truthfully.

The test ended earlier than expected and I never heard any more about the job. 

I wish that wise old law proffessor had told us what I learned from this;  the polygraph works, if at all, by bluff.  I am occasionally asked about taking a polygraph. I  advise as my old prof did, do not submit to polygraph, if possible, and to his advice I add: if you must submit, do not admit  wrongdoing. 

Lie if you must. Certainly admit to nothing illegal.

If  the operator interprets you being deceptive, that's at most his subjective judgment,  not admissable in court. There still exists a doubt in your favor. If you admit wrongdoing, the test has worked by intimidation, and you have erased all doubts.  You can find yourself fired, even prosecuted.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Jeffery
Very Senior User

Re: jailhouse lawyer polygraph
Reply #1 - Aug 10th, 2005 at 1:57am
What's ironic is they made a lawyer take a polygraph in the first place.  Everybody should know all lawyers are liars; why use a machine to confirm that?   Grin

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box lawdog
New User

Reply #2 - Aug 10th, 2005 at 2:35am