Normal Topic Lawsuits against LE agency? (Read 4854 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box hwsternfan
User

Lawsuits against LE agency?
Feb 8th, 2005 at 8:26pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Can the moderator advise if anyone has sued a LE agency for not hiring them because of the polygraph and won? 

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Twoblock
God Member

Re: Lawsuits against LE agency?
Reply #1 - Feb 9th, 2005 at 9:05pm
hwsternfan

I can not answer you question however, I think you ought to give it a try. I am not a lawyer but,  if anyone officially called me a liar, which polygraphers do when they DQ you, I would make them prove it in a court of law. More so if it costs me a career. I assume you can can prove you didn't lie. The burden of proof would be on them though.

If you can't afford a lawyer, you can do it it yourself (pro se). There are "self help legal groups" out there to assist you. I think the venue here is Federal Court because, to me, this is unfair and corrupt labor practice. It is also character assasination in conjunction with employment. You are also blacklisted because if you apply to another Department, the polygrapher will. more than likely, ask you if you have ever had a polygraph. You either have to lie and take a chance or tell them yes. When you say yes, the Dept. that DQed you will respond to the reference check and shoot you out of the saddle.

It costs $150 to file in Federal Court.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box dimas
Especially Senior User

Reply #2 - Feb 10th, 2005 at 12:41pm
Personally I have not heard of this occuring, it may have resulted in the applicant being given the opportunity to test again, but if anyone has ever heard of a case like this I would greatly appreciate the details such as name of the case, court in which the disposition was made etc.