Normal Topic Worried about law enforcement (Read 2349 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box concerned
New User

Worried about law enforcement
Aug 20th, 2004 at 8:30pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am a pro-America, pro-police, anti ACLU kind of person.  However, after recently taking the polygraph test, I'm most concerned about law enforcement in America.  How can anyone of reasonable intelligence believe this test has any value?  I was lied to on six different occassions during the exam.  I received an hour of disinformation before the test began.  Then I was told the machine could measure "brain waves" and "know exactly what you're thinking".  I was so close to laughing.  Sadly, I only passed after I figured that the examiner wanted me to lie on control questions that I was hammered on.  Yes, I passed and deserved to as I was hiding nothing.  Yet it took lying on control questions to pass as my readings were at first inconclusive.   
Its a tough spot. One must do something to screen law enforcement people.  Yet this test is scary as I can see how practice could make a criminal or spy or other bad person pass easily.  I hope some other psycological test can be invented.   
I have nothing against my examiner as I believe he wanted me to pass and was trying very hard to see if I had an admissions to make to him to protect his agency, which of course I did not.
We need a better way!!!!!!

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Yoda
New User

Re: Worried about law enforcement
Reply #1 - Aug 20th, 2004 at 9:55pm
Concerned,

How does the ACLU fit into this? as you stated  "anti ACLU kind of person."   

Also, congrats on passing! I'm curious to know if you used countermeasures and which ones?   

I myself was honest on my appl. & polys and wanted to go the "honest" approach trusting in the "system".  That got me nowhere close to Q, and still at my lifeless job that I never dreamed of having.

Yoda

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Marty