Normal Topic New, Need Direction (Read 3939 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Sheba
New User

New, Need Direction
Jun 9th, 2004 at 7:45pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Since this is my first time here and I am freely admitting that I am under tremedious stress, please don't blast me if I come across negative or harsh.  I grew up in a law enforcement family and have always had the greatest respect for those in that field.  Knowing what they do each day, I have always defended those in law enforcement to those who may not understand fully the stress and life they choose to lead.

Having said that...

I am a mother of 3 and my oldest son (14) has recently been accused of going through his best-friend's mothers bedroom and ransacking it.  In the process, taking a few items (not sure what, we haven't been told).  My son has never been in trouble with the law, doesn't do drugs or alcohol and the worst he thing he has ever done is lie about doing his homework (we count ourselves lucky).  His personality is such, that this is totally beyond him.

To make a long story short, we live in a small town and pissed off the officer when I told him he was done bullying my son into a confession and must leave my house.  He now wants to do some Voice thing, he mentioned it was like the "old-fashioned lie detector tests".  Never having heard about this, my husband and I declined.  Needless to say, the officer is a bit miffed at us.

Is there some material that explains what this is, what the ratio of false-positive/false-negatives are, how accurate is this procedure is and what it entails?  Also, my son suffers from depression and does what is called "flooding" when emotions or stress get to a certain point will this affect the test and if yes, how?

I hope this post doesn't sound like I am bashing anyone but at this point, 35 years of trust and respect for the law enforcement community is going down the drain.

Thank you for any help,
Sheba

IP Logged