Hot Topic (More than 15 Replies) Failed the exam (Read 14664 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box PapaBlueMarlin
New User

Failed the exam
May 6th, 2003 at 11:33pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am a forensic science graduate student and had applied to work at a state police position for my summer internship requirement.  I was thorough enough on the pre-interview questionaire for one of the troopers to say "I can't believe I'm going to have to read all this."

I started filling out paperwork at 9am and it was 1pm before I even got to polygraph.  I had not eaten all day.  We began the test with a numerical test where I picked a number between 2-8, but then answered no to every one of them on the polygraph.  I picked 6.  After running through the numbers twice, he only had my choices narrowed down to 3,4, or 6 and I had to tell him which one I picked.

Then the examiner came up with a list of questions and I passed on all of them except illegal sexual activity.  I was numb with disbelief.  So I basically got interrogated about my sexual activity.  While I am a virgin, I was forced to disclose a traumatic incident where I had been victimized by another boy.  He came up with a list of new questions where at least half of them were sexually based.  I had not done any of the things of the list and I still failed.  Basically I was called a liar and my integrity was challenged.

I went home feeling completely depleted.  I cannot believe I failed the test based upon something I did not do.  I could not get out of bed and even contemplated suicide at the thought my whole education could be for nothing.

This morning I talked to one of my friends and she mentioned that beta-blockers might be used to lower your fear of detection.  I was a bit skeptical because the examiner apparently adjusts the instrument to fit your autonomic nervous system.  But maybe it would take some of the nervousness off when I face a question that has shock value.