Normal Topic Paper on polygraphs.... (Read 1624 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box RASCAL

Paper on polygraphs....
Feb 13th, 2003 at 7:55am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hi!  I am a CJA student with a paper to write.  I have to choose a topic that involves police, is contraversial, something I can present two sides for argument and is something I am interested in.  Well, the Polygraph came to mind.  I personally have not yet had any experience with one, but am TERRIFIED to apply for fear of the polygraph.  I am not a dishonest person, but I have had a shall we say recreational drug history. Anyways, I would like to be honest on the exam, but I know if I was I would be disqualified for employment based on just that.  Anyways, I could go on about this for days.  I was just wondering if there were any other links with information on the topic, specifically ones regarding LE employment, and that may have measured statistics to include in my report.  Thanks ahead of time for any help.   Cheesy

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Poster-Boy

Re: Paper on polygraphs....
Reply #1 - Feb 13th, 2003 at 9:08pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Hey Rascal....

I encourage you to do your report on the fraud called the polygraph...

A great source of information exists on this very site.

On the main page of Antipolygraph.org,  there is a blue box containing links (Message board, etc).  You will also notice a link titled "Reading Room."   

Go to this section of antipolygraph.org for info to use in your paper.

I also strongly encourage you to let your classmates--particularly fellow crim-just students--know about the issue you are taking up for your paper.

A good outline would be to discuss the following:

1.History of polygraph (developed by same man 
        who invented the wonder-woman comic....her
        lasso wrapped around people and forced them 
        to tell the truth!)
      2.The use of the polygraph today in law enforcement