Normal Topic internal affairs (Read 2819 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box Concerned Officer

internal affairs
Feb 8th, 2002 at 12:25am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I am a police officer in the state of Virginia and am have been told that I may have to take a polygraph for an internal Affairs investigation. I know by state legislation that as a law enforcement officer I can be ordered to take it and have no choice. I was wondering if anyone was aware of any caselaw or anything that it can be used as evidence against me, or is this a case like criminal court where it can't be used without everyone agreeing to it? I've read the "Lie behind" and know what to do , but I'm still worried.

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: internal affairs
Reply #1 - Feb 8th, 2002 at 1:03am
Concerned Officer,

I'm not familiar with Virginia case law in this regard, but you might wish to contact the officers of the Virginia Coalition of Police and Deputy Sheriffs (Virginia COPS). This organization of law enforcement officers in your state has taken a public position against polygraphy. I don't know him personally, but General Counsel Michael T. Leibig might be a good person with whom to speak.

George W. Maschke
I am generally available in the chat room from 3 AM to 3 PM Eastern time.
Tel/SMS: 1-202-810-2105 (Please use Signal Private Messenger or WhatsApp to text or call.)
E-mail/iMessage/FaceTime: antipolygraph.org@protonmail.com
Wire: @ap_org
Threema: A4PYDD5S
Personal Statement: "Too Hot of a Potato"
IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box pickky
New User

Re: internal affairs
Reply #2 - Mar 26th, 2002 at 10:10am