Normal Topic British Police officer on a Fulbright Award (Read 9063 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box rod cousins

British Police officer on a Fulbright Award
Jan 5th, 2002 at 2:55am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  

US e mail : rodvc@hotmail.com

Dear Sirs,

I am a police officer from the United Kingdom. I am currently in the USA for 5 months on a Fulbright Scholarship ( at the moment I am feeling the cold in Buffalo , NY !) 

I am researching the methods used in North America re the monitoring of sex offenders on release from prison ( once back in the community ) .

Several police departments have informed me that they use the polygraph as a tool in monitoring sex offenders ( I have been referred to a journal called "Polygraph" Volume 29, year 2000 issue 1  which in its entirety deals with such testing ) .

We do not use the polygraph in the UK . Until I saw your web site ( after an internet search ) as a lay person , the polygraph appeared to be a viable tool ( UK legal issues of usage aside , of which I am not aware of ) .

I would be very grateful if you would be so kind as to give me your views on the pros and cons of the polygraph as a tool for such monitoring.I wish to present a balanced argument .More importantly , I wish to give my superiors options to consider that will work in the monitoring of sex offenders once back in the community .

I understand that your time is valuable and any help that you can give me will be useful.

Sgt Rod Cousins Metropolitan Police , London , UK 

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: British Police officer on a Fulbright Award
Reply #1 - Jan 5th, 2002 at 9:16pm
SGT Cousins,

The main argument for post-conviction polygraph screening seems to be that it encourages admissions from those "tested."