Normal Topic How to tell if you passed? (Read 28353 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box wondering

How to tell if you passed?
Nov 26th, 2001 at 1:39am
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
I recently took a pre-employment polygraph for a P.D. It is for a "Reserve" officer position. I am a career Firefighter/Paramedic, and taking the poly so I  can be used as a tactical paramedic for a SWAT team. The examiner was very low key, but nice. She administered "firefighter" questions that she pulled from a reference guide. Also seemed positive about the role I was pursuing on the Department.She used an old suitcase type analog machine. I followed most common advise reguarding questions, all answers followed my application. She stated we would do 2 or 3 graphs. After 2 she stopped, was talkative taking the equipment off, and thanked me/shook my hand. No third set, no post interview questions. I simply forgot to ask if I passed, and now have to wait a few days to find out. My friend took the same exam, with similar run through, but asked/was told he did fine. Anyone have any input?

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box MissionPoly-ban
Very Senior User

Re: How to tell if you passed?
Reply #1 - Nov 26th, 2001 at 3:02am
Wondering:

Despite what anyone has told you (from any source), it is IMPOSSIBLE to determine whether or not you passed the polygraph based on the attitude and actions of the examiner (unless, of course, they catch you trying to cheat the test in the act and kick you out right then and there!).  I personally have concluded that the actions of the examiner after the test mean absolutely NOTHING in regards to how you did.  I have taken two tests for local police departments within the last year/year 1/2, and both times this was what happened:

They ran the test only twice (told it would be run 2-3)
Examiner was nice as could be both before and after the test
No Post-Test interrogation
No negative attitude coming from examiner