Normal Topic 2nd cvsa (Read 5896 times)
Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box wrona 247

2nd cvsa
Nov 4th, 2001 at 7:49pm
Mark & QuoteQuote Print Post  
Here is my situation. I am currently a police officer with a large dept. on the East coast. Due to my girlfriend (fiance) living in another state and having a contract to fufill, I was looking for a good dept in her area. In '99 I found one. I went through the process, including the cvsa and made it to the oral board. I wasn't high enough on the list so I wasn't hired. 

In '00 I applied again to the same agency. I went through the process again and again made it to the cvsa. I was told that I failed this time! I was told that I showed signs of deception. I appealed, they rejected. I researched to find out what the damn cvsa really was and was surprised. I found no relevant research, no one who had substantial knowledge, and no credible findings! Unbelievable! 

Well, now I've got a new situation. I have managed to set myself up with another pre-employment cvsa screening with the same dept. This time I am willing to fight.....and win. I have passed one, and "failed" one with the same agency in two years. With all other factors being equal. I can't wait to see how this turns out! 

Here is my question...I need more research evidence that the vsa doesn't work. I have some research but need more for a possible impending battle. If anyone has any information that could help me, I would appreciate it. 

Oh and I forgot to mention, prior to the cvsa I had taken two in-depth polys. I passed them both with flying colors. 

wrona247@hotmail.com

IP Logged

Paste Member Name in Quick Reply Box George W. Maschke
Global Moderator

Make-believe science yields
make-believe security.

Re: 2nd cvsa
Reply #1 - Nov 6th, 2001 at 9:28pm
wrona247,

See Chapter 11 of David T. Lykken's book, A Tremor in the Blood: Uses and Abuses of the Lie Detector (2nd ed., Plenum Trade, 1998) and the sources cited there.  Here's an excerpt:

Quote: